Cooking

Tacos Al Pastor

I’m just gonna get right down to it. In May we went to Santa Fe. If you haven’t been go. Now. Quit reading and just go. And make a b-line straight to the Rooftop Cantina in the Plaza. I fell in love with the town & the atmosphere. Santa Fe is like that one friend that you have: beautiful, exciting, a bit boozy and all around a good time. The Rooftop had the neatest atmosphere & food that I cannot even begin to describe.. Lets just say the tacos taste like happiness. The restaurant dive-bombed right to the top on my favorites list… it might actually share that spot with 13th Street Bar and Grill. Maybe.

If you can’t make it to Santa Fe on a moments notice, I’ve got ya covered with this recipe for Tacos Al Pastor. #getinmybelly. Really. Serve by themselves, or with black beans and rice. Just don’t forget the margarita. I’ll quit yapping and share the recipe now

Recipe:
1 (5 lbs) boneless pork shoulder
1 (12oz) bottle of beer, we used Modelo
2 Chipotles in adobo <— will use WAY more next time.
1 pineapple
1/2 cup red onion
3 tbls. chili powder (do not use cayenne).. Sorry that was bossy.
2 tbls fresh lime juice
2 tbls white vinegar
2 tsp salt
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp black pepper
Optional toppings: crumbled cheese (gorgonzola is what we used) onion, pineapple, cilantro, avocado. Let your heart run wild. You do you, boo-boo.


Cut the pork into 2 inch cubes & toss in crockpot

_DSC0649 (1)_DSC0651 (1)_DSC0670
In a food processor:
Add in chipotles. We used only 2 and I am a giant weeny when it comes to spice- I thought I could have used 5 and it would have been perfect & some of the sauce. Add in pineapple, red onion, chili powder, lime juice, vinegar, salt, cumin & pepper.
_DSC0653 (1) _DSC0654 _DSC0656

And then take a picture of your adorable S&P shakers.
_DSC0668
Puree until concoction is smooth
_DSC0665 Pour over pork in crockpot
_DSC0673
Cover and cook for 8-10 hours on low, or 4-5 hours on high.
Once pork is cooked fully shred with a fork.

Serve with warm tortillas and any toppings you’ve decided on. Yum Yum Yum!
_DSC0676|Served with Avant Chardonnay by Kendall-Jackson, which was amazing. Light, fresh & crisp|
This was a wine that I could actually taste what the label said I was supposed too. I am so sophisticated, obviously. Green apple & lemon drop flavors. In the summer I tend to drink more whites and in the winter more reds, this is one that will definitely be gracing my wine counter often! Any good recomendations you have- send them my way!

I hope you find the time to make this and/or get to Santa Fe!

IMG_1802

Leave a Reply

