Cooking

BBQ & Bacon

It’s summer, we have a new grill, and its in the high 90’s here in Boise. LOVE IT. A few weeks ago Scott’s mom came to visit and we wanted to grill her a nice meal because she is forever taking care of us when we visit. We decided on a bacon wrapped tenderloin with a honey maple glaze. Drool.

 I don’t know about you, but we are a Fred Meyer family- alllllll around. They’ve been having some great sales on cuts of steak lately so we’ve been eating it a few times a months. No complaints from Scott, that’s for sure. As I said, we have a new grill that I got Scott for his birthday in May and my parents got him 40,000 grilling accessories. Including some great grilling magazines. I am exactly like my mom the way I collect cookbooks and magazines. Just something about looking through them even if I usually wind up using recipes from Pinterest, is so relaxing to me. This time I did use a recipe from the Taste of Home Grilling issue. I imagine this magazine will get a lot of use the rest of this summer and into early fall.

[I’m not the best on the grill just yet, ask my best about the time my eye brows almost got burned off trying to light one, so I always have Scott help with this.]

Start by cutting your sirloin into thinner strips (if they aren’t already) and preparing the marinade.

_DSC0615

In a large zip log bag combine canola oil, worcestershire sauce, a minced clove of garlic, onion powder, S&P. Normally I use a ziplock bag for this.. butttt someone didn’t check the pantry before starting the recipe and didn’t realize she didn’t have any, I don’t know who. But someone did. So tupperware worked just fine 😉
_DSC0617Pop that bad boy in the fridge for 2-4 hours, try to avoid doing much longer- the oil will break down the meat and make it soggy after/during cooking. After a few hours in the fridge, 2 loads of laundry, pinterest-ing and instagram-ing- take the meat out and wrap each piece in bacon (duh. because why wouldn’t you). And sprinkle with lemon-pepper seasoning. _DSC0642I tried to avoid using toothpicks to hold the bacon on, only because I was picky about how it would look (normal, I know). Scott said next time we would have to because it’s impossible to keep the bacon on when you’re flipping it on the grill. Does anyone have any tips on avoiding ugly toothpicks? Or is it simply get over it? .. I’m prepared for the answer,
Next up toss these delicious bits of Heaven on the grill. Grill covered, over medium heat for 10-15 minutes turning periodically.
_DSC0645While the bacon wrapped steaks are grilling start the BBQ glaze.. and try to avoid eating a spoonful plain.
Mix BBQ sauce, steak sauce, honey and molasses.

_DSC0618_DSC0621
Hometown shout out with the BBQ sauce. As steaks are finishing up brush on the marinade just until glaze is heated.

_DSC0649Yum Yum Yum. Sit down and enjoy dinner! It’s easy, quick and tasty.
_DSC0652
Here’s the recipe:

Marinade for steak
1/4 cup canola oil
2 tbsp. worcestershire suace
1 minced garlic clove
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp peper
Meat
1 lb beef top sirloin steak
bacon bacon bacon and more bacon
Lemon-pepper seasoning
Glaze
1/2 cup bbq sauce
1/2 cup honey
1/2 cup steak sauce
1 tbsp. molasses

Add first 6 ingredients to resealable bag, add in steak cut into strips.Refrigerate for 2-4 hours. Discard marinade and wrap steak strips with bacon, sprinkle with lemon-pepper seasoning. Fire up the grill & cook over medium heat, covered. Mix together ingredients for the glaze. Once steaks are nearing the desired temperate or doneness brush on glaze and continue cooking just until glaze is heated. Serve and enjoy!

I served with a side of roasted broccoli: cut up a head of broccoli and toss in a bowl with a bit of olive oil. Sprinkle with Johnny’s seasoning, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Cook at 425* for 20 minutes. It does come out crispy and looks like it might be burning but it is delicious! It’s my favorite way to prepare broccoli I make it at least 2x a week usually.

2 thoughts on “BBQ & Bacon

Leave a Reply

